Five for typing

I have been trying to learn a new keyboard layout for five days now. I used to be a four-fingered typist until i realized that I could type much faster if I will learn how to touch type. I have been fascinated with people who can type as much as 100 wpm or even more! I imagined myself typing with an insane speed that I could almost time travel the words to the future! Okay that is a little over board, but still, for me to be able to type that fast would be awesome! I can think of a lot of ways where I could use that skill to my advantage like writing articles and other freelancing activities to help me earn money. I could use it to play games or by just showing it off to my friends while looking at their in-awed faces. I know I sound silly but you see sometimes, these reasons are what pushes us to learn something we would never even try.

So, after i made up my mind, I started to embark on a journey towards a new horizon which is, the world of Colemak. Just so you know, I first tried learning the QWERTY layout. I was doing fine with it, but then one day I stumbled upon a website (http://colemak.com/) that talked about a new (or maybe a little older, nevertheless it is still new to me) typing layout. So yes, I clicked on it and I learned about the concept and how it is advantageous compared to QWERTY. It is believed to be more efficient and much easier to the hand, it is appealing to me because I like the idea of less stress in typing. Although, all ideas related to “less stress” is appealing to me, so I could have been biased, but it doesn’t matter I like the concept.

On my first day of training, it was very frustrating to type even a single word. I could not do what I usually do without thinking of jiujitsu-ing my laptop. To make matter worse, I have no choice but to go “cold turkey”. It was very hard to type, to message and even just to browse the net. But, I decided to go further and continue practicing until I can be comfortable with it and improve my speed. I downloaded the portable Colemak software, because my laptop is on QWERTY I need this software to reprogram my keyboard every time I need it to. I also downloaded the Typing Tutor software as suggested from the site. It was very helpful for me, as well as the other typing games that makes the whole practice session less boring.

Right now, my typing speed is 19 wpm with 95% accuracy. I am still practicing to improve my accuracy as it is more ideal to improve your accuracy before building up your speed. Some people suggest to practice on frequently used words, that is what I am trying to practice right now in addition to my daily exercises. I will share my improvement from time to time. This is to give others an idea on how it is like to learn to touch type from scratch. If there are others who are interested to learn, is currently learning how to or is already passed the idiot’s stage of learning the Colemak layout and is already hanging out with other typing gods, feel free to comment and share your ideas and experiences. Just to boast something, I made this article using Colemak layout. Yeah!!!

2 thoughts on “Five for typing

  1. Thanks for the nudge! I’ve been meaning to learn Colemak for a while. I’ve been typing on Dvorak for about ten years and I like it, but I’m curious about the “roll” optimizations of Colemak. I’m slowly working my way through these Colemak lessons, which are structured like the dvorak7min tutor that I found so useful when learning Dvorak. I copied them into Keybr, which has a nicer interface and a Colemak display. Day 1: a painfully slow 14 WPM (and that’s a fake WPM, because I haven’t gotten the hang of the bottom keys yet), but I’m sure I’ll make progress in due time. =)

    Good luck to us both!

    • Yup! That is good to hear! Yes, it will get better in time I myself started from a fake 10 wpm speed. I am also interested about the “roll” thing, as I am not yet used to this area. I’ll try to look for that info. Thanks! It looks like I will learn something new again. ^^

      Goodluck!

Leave a Reply

